Call for 2010 ‘Dr. Erhard Busek SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South East Europe’

Cultural Events, various0 comments

The South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO) is pleased to announce the 2010 Dr. Erhard Busek – SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South East Europe. Sponsored by Dr. Erhard Busek – Jean Monet Professor ad personam, President of the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe, Coordinator of the Southeast European Cooperative Initiative (SECI), Former Special Coordinator of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe and President of the European Forum Alpbach – the EUR 3,000 award will be presented to a journalist, editor, media executive, media expert, writer or journalism trainer in South Eastern Europe, who has promoted better understanding amongst peoples in the region and worked towards ending minority-related problems, ethnic division, racism, xenophobia, or who has helped in any other form to foster understanding in South East Europe. In 2002, the international SEEMO jury chose Croatian journalist Denis Latin as the recipient of the 2002 Dr. Erhard Busek – SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South East Europe, in recognition of his outstanding contribution towards better understanding in South Eastern Europe through his TV show Latinica. In 2003, the award was presented to Kemal Kurspahic, former editor-in-chief of the Sarajevo daily Oslobodjenje. The 2005 award was given to Brankica Petkovic, Head of the Center for Media Policy at the Peace Institute in Ljubljana, Slovenia. In 2006, the Croatian journalist Danko Plevnik, international relations columnist for the Split-based daily Slobodna Dalmacija, was the recipient of the award. The Bulgarian investigative journalist Milena Dimitrova received the award in 2007. In 2008, the SEEMO jury chose Brankica Stankovic, editor for RTV B92 in Belgrade, who has addressed in her TV show The Insider (Insajder) important issues that have been either concealed or sidelined by the Serbian authorities. In 2009 the award was given to Boris Bergant, co-founder of the Alpe Adria broadcasting project, former European Broadcasting Union (EBU) Deputy-President and former Deputy Director of Radio-TV Slovenia, for his integrity and personal dedication in carrying out his work in the region. If you know of anyone who would be a worthy recipient of the Dr. Erhard Busek – SEEMO 2010 Award for Better Understanding in South East Europe, please send by regular post or email to SEEMO:
1. A letter of nomination with basic details about the candidate and reasons why you would nominate the person for this award.
2. A Curriculum Vitae of the candidate.
3. Relevant supporting material (e.g. a summary of the manifestations of the candidate’s merits; details of the media which published / broadcast the reports etc).
4. Your contact information (name, address, mobile phone, phone, fax, email).
5.  Contact information for the candidate (name, address, phone, fax, email).             
If you would like to nominate a media outlet or an organisation/institution, please always provide details of its representative, as the award can be presented to individuals only. If your nomination is supported by an organisation/media outlet, please send us the name and contacts of the person from the organisation/media supporting your nomination. If your nomination is supported by another individual or individuals, please send us their details and contact information. Please send us all possible additional materials about the nominated person (TV reports on DVD, audio reports on CD, copies of articles in print media) by regular post to our Vienna office. Reports in local languages should be, if possible, accompanied by a brief English translation. Unfortunately, supporting material cannot be returned, so please always send copies of the original materials. The nominated person must come from, or work in, the SEEMO region. SEEMO is active in Europe in the following territories: Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo, Albania, Republic of Macedonia / FYROM, Greece, Cyprus, Hungary, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Poland, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Romania, Bulgaria and Turkey. The International Jury will be composed of distinguished journalists and media experts. Please note that members of the jury cannot be nominated for the award. Also self-nominations are not acceptable. Please send your nomination and supporting documents to: SEEMO/IPI Busek Award 2009 Spiegelgasse 2/29, 1010 Vienna, Austria Tel: +43 1 513 39 40 Fax: +43 1 512 90 15 E-mail: [email protected] The deadline for applications for the 2010 Dr. Erhard Busek – SEEMO Award for Better Understanding in South East Europe is: 15 May 2010. All materials sent by post must arrive in the SEEMO office by 25 May 2010.